Tongue’s Out!

20170304_150140
Thai Tea Ice Cream!

When your boyfriend treats you to Hans’ Homemade Ice Cream – the one place that’s extremely close to home, but have never had the chance to go try. You run in there, salivating over all the different flavors, and ask the cashier for some samples (yes! free ice cream!!), all the while, jumping up and down like a little kid again. I mean, it’s ice cream … who wouldn’t?!

I remember when grandpa was still here, we’d always get ice cream after our lunch get togethers. Sugar-free for him, regular for the fam. His face would shine with the biggest smile, ready to tackle that scoop of chocolate ice cream. It wasn’t just any smile, it was enough to light up the whole room. That was me last Saturday, as I devoured my $4 scoop of homemade ice cream. It was a little on the pricey side for me, but boy, was it tasty!

And, last week was exactly that: fun times with good friends.

20170303_114842
Thousand Steps Beach

Friday.
Who said long walks on the beach are for couples only? My friend, Cassie took me to Thousand Steps Beach in Laguna Beach, CA since I’ve never been before. It was only about half an hour away, but judging by the name of it, I thought there would be more “steps” surrounding the beach areas. I guess the keyword here was supposed to be “Beach” in its name. But regardless, the serenity and tranquility of beach waves and seagulls helped make its location all the more enjoyable. What was even better, was that our 30 minute beach hike was followed by delicious Mexican food! A Carne Asada Taco and Blackened Salmon Burrito later (California Burrito for Cassie), I was happy as a clam.

20170303_131326
La Sirena Grill

Saturday.
The big day. The day I turned 29. The beginning to the last year of my 20’s. I’m still not ready. I still feel 28. Can 29 be next year? My boyfriend was in the living room when I woke up, and he said to S’mores and Oreo, “Go say Happy Birthday to Mommy!” A simple “aeiou” would have sufficed, but they ran up to my bed and didn’t make a single sound. “Good,” I called out, “until they say Happy Birthday to me, I’m still 28!” Full denial. I don’t want to be old. Being old sucks. But, slowly, nighttime came, and after a lovely steak dinner made by my boyfriend, it was time to go out with friends and celebrate. Two of my other girl friends and our significant others came.

20170304_222613
Girls just wanna have fun!

Here’s to a great year ahead, with love from friends, family, and our two kittens. I’m not ready to enter my 30’s yet, but that’s still another year away.

And, how does all of this relate to cats? Well, I guess this one in particular doesn’t. But the featured image with S’mores sleeping with her tongue sticking out, that’s how I feel after all the celebratory birthday shennanigans I’ve been going to all last week. Still have a few left this month with family and friends so I will be moreso pooped out afterwards.

Cute Fact: S’mores’ tongue does tend to hangout like that when she’s sleeping every now and again. Sometimes, if you accidentally wake her from her sleep, she will be trying to adjust her eyes to the light with her tongue still sticking out and I think it’s the cutest thing ever!

Leave a Reply

